Don’t Let Fear Decide Your Fate

Never let fear decide your fate

What it means is, don’t let the fear that’s in your head keep you from doing the things that you love. Don’t let those fears hold you from reaching your dreams. Don’t let those fears dictate your life.

It is obviously easier said than done, it’s not easy, it’ll take time, and it’ll take practice, and you will fail every once in a while, but as long as you keep going and trying, you will reach the stage where fears can’t control you anymore.

This takes me back to when I switched schools last year. When I first came, I was totally fine, fears had no place in my head, and I was fully capable of controlling them. All it took was a bunch of new people who insulted me and made me insecure about myself and I became withdrawn and fearful from anything and anyone who tries to speak to me or be friends with me. I became so shy and quiet that people asked me if I could talk. I was always scared of the things that might go wrong in any given situation and I over analyzed everything.

But then came this one point where I decided it’s time this bullshit stops. Life has to get better and I need to stop letting fear control me like this. I started talking to more people. I stopped letting anyone make fun of me in any possible way. I took control of my life and became 10 times stronger that I was last year. I still have fears, but I put them at the back of my head or turn them off completely. I admit I’m still shy and quiet, but I’m working on it, after all, not everything can change over a couple of months.

As for you, sit down right now, and think about your fears. Are you scared of being judged? People will always judge you anyway so why worry. Are you scared of losing someone? If you lose someone then he/she wasn’t meant to be in your life from the beginning, and if you lose someone, you’ll find someone better. Are you scared of getting your heart broken? Even if it gets broken it’ll definitely heal with time. Etc., so think about all those fears and figure out a way to get over them, and with time, fears will have no place in your head anymore.  

 

Don’t let fear keep you from truly experiencing life, because life is a beautiful place once you let go of the things that scare you. Live life to the fullest and be happy, because you only have one life, so make the most of it. And as always, I would like to end it with a quote:

“The thing that you fear the most has no power. Your fear of it is what has the power. Facing the truth will really set you free” – Oprah Winfrey

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let Fear Decide Your Fate

  1. I learned in HS to not let fear control my decision making and as a result I learned how to drive in Mexico, went to the Philippines, saw the David in Florence, made a slew of friends in College, saw Auschwitz, and self-published a book. I’ve been a single mom and now I’m not. It’s been good, because fear hasn’t controlled me.

    Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment